Entry Procedure

Entry Procedure for all visitors must hold the passport and valid visa except for visitors from India. So, a visa obtained at the Nepalese diplomatic missions and consulates abroad. But visas mainly issued at the entry points. But, it extended at the Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Kathmandu. Because children under 10 years don’t need to pay any visa fee. So, visitors who can enter the airport or any other land entry points required to fill a visa form with a passport size photograph.

Important Note:

Entry Procedure, All visitors/tourists who visit Nepal must hold valid visas and passports. And tourist visa can be obtained for the following duration from Nepal Embassy, Consulate and Mission office abroad. And the following immigration offices in Nepal.

  1. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
  3. Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
  4. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
  5. Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
  6. Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
  7. Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
  8. Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

Visa Facility Duration  Fee

Entry Procedure, Multiple entry 15 days US$ 30 or equivalent convertible currency.
Multiple entry 30 days US$ 50 or equivalent convertible currency.
Multiple entry 90 days US$ 125 or equivalent convertible currency.

Tourist Visa Extension

Visa extension fee for 15 days or less is the US $ 45 or equivalent convertible currency and visa extension fee for more than 15 days is US$ 3 per day.

The tourist visas can be extended for a maximum period of 150 days in a single visa year (January – December).

Gratis (Free) Visa

Gratis visa for 30 days available only for tourists of SAARC countries.

Indian nationals do not require a visa to enter into Nepal.

Transit Visa

A transit visa for one day can be obtained from Nepal’s immigration offices at the entry points upon the production of departure flight tickets via Tribhuvan International Airport in Nepal. But, paying the US $ 5 or equivalent convertible currency.

For further information

Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Dillibazar, Kathmandu, Tel:00977-1-4429659 / 4429660 / 4438862 / 4438868, website: www.nepalimmigration.gov.np   can be contacted.

Point Noted:

Nepal government gives on arrival visa to all nationalities except the following countries:

  1. Nigeria
  2. Ghana
  3. Zimbabwe
  4. Swaziland
  5. Cameroon
  6. Somalia
  7. Liberia
  8. Ethiopia
  9. Iraq
  10.  Palestine
  11. Afghanistan